Category: 2015 Inductees

Henry Ford

Henry Ford revolutionized the way Americans travel and shaped the course of the 20th century. Like his friend and mentor, Thomas Edison, Ford was an innovator, transforming the automobile from a luxury item to a practical means of transportation.

Robert Howard Grubbs

Dr. Robert Howard Grubbs received his B.S. in chemistry in 1963 and M.S. in 1965, from the University of Florida in Gainesville. In 1998 he received his Ph.D. in chemistry from Columbia University.

Robert Holton

Dr. Robert Holton, whose research focuses on the synthesis of complex organic molecules, is a leader in the field of synthetic chemistry.

Jerry Pratt

Dr. Jerry Pratt leads a research group at the Florida Institute for Human & Machine Cognition (IHMC) that concentrates on understanding and modeling human gait and applying that knowledge to the fields of robotics, human assistive devices, and man-machine interfaces.

Paul R. Sanberg

Neuroscientist Dr. Paul R. Sanberg’s work has been instrumental in understanding and developing new pharmaceutical and cellular therapeutics for stroke, Alzheimer’s, ALS, Huntington’s, Parkinson’s disease and Tourette syndrome.

Nan-Yao Su

Dr. Nan-Yao Su is one of the world’s leading authorities on subterranean termites and their management. Along with colleagues at Dow AgroSciences, he developed a revolutionary approach for protecting buildings from wood-consuming insects, the Sentricon® termite colony elimination system.

Janet Yamamoto

Dr. Janet K. Yamamoto is a professor of retroviral immunology in UF Veterinary Medicine’s department of infectious diseases and pathology. She received her Ph.D. in microbiology, with a focus in immunology, from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.