2023 News

Celebrating Florida Inventors Hall of Fame Inductees: ASEMFL Welcomes Two, while One Receives the Prestigious Trailblazer Award

We are thrilled to extend our heartfelt congratulations to Dr. Norma A. Alcantar and Dr. Jason Eichenholz, Inductees of the Florida Inventors Hall of Fame, on their recent election to the Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida (ASEMFL). Their groundbreaking research and remarkable contributions have earned them this prestigious honor. 

Dr. Norma A. Alcantar, a 2021 Inductee, has been recognized for her exceptional work in providing clean drinking water solutions for low-income communities. Her groundbreaking research has significantly impacted the lives of countless individuals. In addition to this, Dr. Alcantar has garnered recognition for her remarkable contributions in the field of research, particularly in disrupting amyloid fibril formation in Alzheimer’s disease. Her pioneering work holds immense promise for advancing our understanding of this debilitating condition and developing potential treatments. Dr. Alcantar’s election to ASEMFL further solidifies her position as a leading expert in the scientific community.  

As we celebrate Dr. Alcantar’s exceptional achievements and election to the Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida (ASEMFL), you may be curious to learn more about her groundbreaking research and journey. For further insights into her remarkable contributions, we invite you to explore the National Academy of Inventors report. Discover the depth of her innovative work by accessing the full report here: Read the NAI Report.

Additionally, we extend our heartfelt congratulations to 2023 Inductee, Dr. Jason Eichenholz for his well-deserved election to ASEMFL, and we are thrilled to witness the legacy he continues to build in the world of innovation. Throughout his illustrious career, Dr. Eichenholz has made groundbreaking strides in the field of research, leaving an indelible mark on numerous industries. His pioneering contributions in the development and commercialization of lidar, with a special focus on autonomous vehicle applications, have revolutionized the way we perceive transportation and safety. Additionally, his invaluable insights and expertise in the realm of Open Innovation in Photonics have not only propelled advancements in photonics technology but also inspired a new wave of collaborative problem-solving in the scientific community. Dr. Eichenholz’s profound impact on these fields serves as a testament to his brilliance and dedication to pushing the boundaries of what is possible.

We are also proud to share the remarkable achievement of Dr. Kris Singh, who was honored with the prestigious Trailblazer Award on June 21, 2023. The U.S. Nuclear Industry Council (U.S. NIC) bestowed this esteemed accolade upon him during the Advanced Reactor Summit event in Charlotte, North Carolina. This prestigious recognition reflects Dr. Singh’s prolific contributions to nuclear energy and his groundbreaking advancements in various areas of research. 

Dr. Singh holds exceptional contributions in multiple domains, including wet and dry storage of spent nuclear fuel, transportation of high-level nuclear waste, and his pivotal role in the development of the SMR-160 gravity-driven reactor. Dr. Singh’s achievements extend beyond the nuclear sphere, with notable advancements in energy storage technologies, manufacturing processes, and solar energy collection systems. 

Dr. Singh’s Trailblazer Award highlights not only his profound impact on nuclear energy but also his dedication to advancing scientific knowledge for the greater benefit of society. 

We commend Dr. Norma A. Alcantar and Dr. Jason Eichenholz for their exceptional achievements and well-deserved election to ASEMFL. Additionally, we applaud Dr. Kris Singh for receiving the prestigious Trailblazer Award. Their dedication to advancing scientific knowledge and making a positive impact on society reflects the values upheld by the Florida Inventors Hall of Fame.